You Make My Heart Open Up Wide – Heart Book for Valentine!

My heart is a window. My heart is a slide. My heart can be closed…or opened up wide.
Some days your heart is a puddle or a fence to keep the world out. But some days it is wide open to the love that surrounds you.

Some books are just beautiful. My Heart by Corinna Luyken is such a book! Perfect for Valentine’s Day and the rest of the year!

The lyrical text and lovely art, are a reminder that our hearts can be filled with a vast range of emotions. The book makes you slow down and explore ways that you can care for your own heart and live a life filled with kindness. Love the greyscale and yellow illustrations, which perfectly fit with the simple phrasing. The book is about love as a practice, about how it can frustrate and even frighten us. But love can also make us grow.

Some days it is tiny,
but tiny can grow…
and grow…
and grow.

Thoughts of another wonderful book flicked through my mind when I read it – The Little Prince. This classic book also explores some fundamental aspects of being human.

My heart is a shadow,
a light and a guide.
Closed or open…
I get to decide.

We found a great resource that you can download for free here from the author’s website.

Leave a comment